Agar (also known as agar agar) is a vegetable gelatin extracted form various seaweed species and used as a food additive. It serves as a great alternative to animal gelatin in plant-based cooking, containing zero calories with the addition of trace minerals such as folic acid, magnesium, iron, and iodine. 

See seaweed for nutritional information and benefits. 

Purchasing, Storing, and Enjoying:

Purchasing: Agar can be found in the Asian food section of grocery stores, health stores, and Asian grocery stores. It comes powdered, in flakes, and in long strips.

Storing: Store agar in a selaed container away from heat or sunlight.

Enjoying: Cooks use agar as a vegetarian gelatin substitute, a thickener for soups, fruits preserves, ice cream and others desserts.

Resources and recipes:

Fruit Jello: http://www.babble.com/best-recipes/vegan-jello-with-agar-agar/

Cheeseless Brie: http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2013-01-16/features/sc-food-0111-veggie-cheese-20130116_1_coconut-oil-brie-vegetarian

Melty Vegan Cheese: http://vegannomnoms.net/2012/10/melty-delicious-vegan-cheese-get-in-my-belly.html


About the Author

Ashley Kim

"Our bodies are our gardens—our wills are our gardeners." – William Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *