Agar (also known as agar agar) is a vegetable gelatin extracted form various seaweed species and used as a food additive. It serves as a great alternative to animal gelatin in plant-based cooking, containing zero calories with the addition of trace minerals such as folic acid, magnesium, iron, and iodine.

See seaweed for nutritional information and benefits.

Purchasing, Storing, and Enjoying:

Purchasing: Agar can be found in the Asian food section of grocery stores, health stores, and Asian grocery stores. It comes powdered, in flakes, and in long strips.

Storing: Store agar in a selaed container away from heat or sunlight.

Enjoying: Cooks use agar as a vegetarian gelatin substitute, a thickener for soups, fruits preserves, ice cream and others desserts.

Resources and recipes:

Fruit Jello:

Cheeseless Brie:

Melty Vegan Cheese:

Avatar photo
Ashley Kim

"Our bodies are our gardens—our wills are our gardeners." – William Shakespeare

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Newsletter Signup

Stay connected!

Please wait...

Thank you for the sign up!